by Helen Chandler There are eight limbs of Yoga. They are Yama (Restraints), Niyama (Observances), Asana (Posture), Pranayama (Breath/Energy control), Pratyahara (Turning the senses inward), Dharana (Concentration), Dhyana (Meditation) and Samadhi (Absorption). These aspects of yoga are described by Patanjali (the father of yoga) in his writing of the Yoga Sutras. There are 196 sutras… Continue reading Niyama